Long Term Care for Mental Illness

Age Requirements 18 and over Available 24/7 Yes Other Eligibility Criteria Adult and Geriatric. Be pre-screened by an approved representative of a Community Services Board. Deemed by the CSB pre-screener to exhibit the psychiatric severity of illness and intensity of service needs congruent with inpatient psychiatric care. Be medically stable and de Family No Intake Contact R. Michael Jones, Ph.D Intake Process Pre-screening and referral from the Community Services Board in the individuals home community. Qualifications Qualification Type Certification Qualification Entity Medicaid Qualification Type Accreditation Qualification Entity Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations **Qualification Number** HCO ID 525026 Qualification Type Licensure **Qualification Entity** Virginia Department of Health **Report Problems** Other Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute

http://www.swvmhi.dbhds.virginia.gov/swvmhi/ http://www.swvmhi.dbhds.virginia.gov/swvmhi/

Main (276) 783-1200 TTY/TTD (276) 783-1365

340 Bagley Circle 24354 VA United States

Additional Availability Comments Business hours are Monday through Friday Fee Structure Fee Range

Call for Information Payment Method(s) Private Pay

Private Insurance

,

Medicaid Languages Spoken English

Southwestern Virginia Mental Health is a 179 bed state psychiatric institute operated by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS). The Institute serves adult and geriatric citizens of Southwest Virginia as a treatment, educational and resource center to assist people in their recovery and improve quality of life for individuals with mental health and/or substance abuse needs. Units of care include: Adult Admissions, Extended Rehabilitative Services, and Geriatrics. The hospital serves as an inpatient component of an integrated system of care of the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services.

Service Area(s) Abingdon City

Bland County

Buchanan County

Carroll County

Dickenson County

Floyd County

Giles County

,

Grayson County

Lee County

Montgomery County

Pulaski County

Russell County

Scott County

Smyth County

Tazewell County

, Washington County

Wise County